Indian Institute of Technology Jharkhand, India

This is where two people come together to create something beautiful.

The Indian National Congress at its XVII Session of December 1901 passed a resolution stating that “in view of the fact that the tendency of recent legislation namely, The Indian Mines Act VII of 1901, is that all Indian mines must be kept under the supervision of mining experts, the Congress is of opinion that a Government College of Mining Engineering be established in some suitable place in India on the models of the Royal School of Mines in England, Mining Colleges of Japan and at other places in the continent”. The Indian School of Mines was formally opened on 9th December 1926, by Lord Irwin, the then Viceroy of India to address the need for trained manpower related to mining activities in the country with disciplines of Mining and Applied Geology. In 1967 it was granted the status of a deemed to be university under Section 3 of UGC Act, 1956. Since its establishment, IIT(ISM) has undergone considerable expansion of its activities, and presently it can be considered as a total technology education institute.

Applications are invited from SC, ST, OBC-NCL under Special Recruitment Drive from Indian nationals for the posts of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor in the Departments of Applied Geology, Applied Geophysics, Chemistry & Chemical Biology, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics Engineering, Environmental Science and Engineering, Fuel, Minerals and Metallurgical Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Management Studies & Industrial Engineering, Mathematics & Computing, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, and Physics.

Prof. J. K. Pattanayak - Director (Officiating)Prof. - J K Pattanayak, Officiating Director, Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad, is a Professor in the Department of Management Studies & Industrial Engineering, IIT (ISM), Dhanbad. He has more than 37 years of teaching and research experience.

Prof. Dheeraj Kumar - Deputy Director - 21 years’ experience in Academic, Research & Consultancy, and Administration
Founded the Section 8 company on Mining Technology Innovations, TEXMiN Foundation for developing technologies, innovation & start up ecosystems in Mining and Earth Science domains with substantial funding from Govt.of India (Rs. 11000 Lakh under National Mission on Cyber Physical Systems) and industries.