Prime Ministers Museum And Library New Delhi, India

The NMML aims to contribute to a better understanding of modern and contemporary India, thus serve as a link with the past and the future of India.

The Prime Ministers Museum and Library Society previously known as the Nehru Museum and Library Society is a museum and library in New Delhi, India, which aims to preserve and reconstruct the history of the Indian independence movement. Housed within the Teen Murti House complex, it is an autonomous institution under the Indian Ministry of Culture, and was founded in 1964 after the death of India's first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. It aims to foster academic research on modern and contemporary history. Today, the Nehru Memorial Library is the world's leading resource centre on India's first prime minister. Its archives contain the bulk of Mahatma Gandhi's writings, as well as private papers of Swami Sahajanand Saraswati, C. Rajagopalachari, B. C. Roy, Jayaprakash Narayan, Charan Singh, Sarojini Naidu and Rajkumari Amrit Kaur. In March 2010, it launched a digitization project of its archives, and by June 2011, 867,000 pages of manuscripts and 29,807 photographs had been scanned and 500,000 pages had been uploaded on the digital library website. Amongst noted publications of the NMML are Selected Works of Jawaharlal NehruMan of Destiny by Ruskin Bond, and Nehru Anthology (1980).

Applications are invited for the posts of Hindi Translator and Junior Stenographer (Hindi) on contract basis for a period of one year. Interested candidates may send their resume with all the necessary documents in sealed envelopes addressed to Director, PMML, Teen Murti Bhawan, New Delhi 110011 latest by 15th October 2023.

Nehru Memorial Museum & Library has over the years, supported scholars and historians across India. Through its fellowship programme, the Nehru Memorial Fellowship, it has funded some of India's best academics, such as Chief Information Commissioner OP Kejriwal. It is also one of the best libraries in Delhi for the social sciences as it has a huge collection on Labour related issues in the form of PhD dissertations, reports, books, journals and newspapers.

Shri Nripendra Misra - Chairman

Dr A Surya Prakash - Vice-Chairman